Monday, December 17, 2012

Schumann Cycle 2012, Nézet Séguin, COE live @ Cité de la Musique, Paris

Robert Schumann
Symphonies and Concertos Live 2012, Cité de la Musique, Paris

Sterling Forest State Park, Tuxedo, NY

2 November 2012

Symphony No.4 in D minor Op.120
Cello Concert in A minor Op.129
Symphony No.1 in B Flat Major Op.38 'Spring'

3 November 2012

Manfred Overture Op 115
Violin Concerto in D minor WoO 23
Symphony No.3 in E Flat Major Op.97 'Rhenish'

4 November 2012

Overture Genoveva Op 81
Piano Concerto in A minor Op.54
Symphony No.2 in C Major Op.61

Gautier Capuçon, cello
Renaud Capuçon, violin
Nicholas Angelich, piano

Chamber Orchestra of Europe
Yannick Nézet Séguin, conductor

broadcast recordings
Cité de la Musique, Paris

All thanks to Atze, MP3s, 320 kbps

Allright. The pic is weird, and seemingly non sequitur. It's my current workplace, and the shot just seems to express the invitation to beauty inherent in these broadcast recordings. Maestro Nézet-Séguin is doing a real number on these works, most of them varnishable warhorses. I find he is great with bringing out rhythmic power without the protracted mashing of the 'thermonuclear' button felt in, say, Solti. (To be fair, Sir Georg also had nights where his mood was more forgiving, an example of which is somewhere in the posting cue). The Chamber Orchestra Of Europe's own blog has a wonderful piece giving some nice details and ruminations about Schumann. Here . 



Guillermo said...

Guillermo said...

Play it LOUD

Anonymous said...

¡Miles de gracias, Guillermo!

Anonymous said...

Mil, mil gracias, está bellisimo sonido full

Guillermo said...

Es un placer!

Anonymous said...

thank you & what a great looking series of concerts. Good on them! and good on you for capturing it and bringing sharing it.
your sincerely
alfred venison

Audentity said...

Great recordings, thanks! What a different sound for these war horses. I'm now investigating Gardiner's take on Schumann.

I live in Oregon and your photo looks it could be from around here :)