Saturday, February 19, 2011

Brahms 3 Prêtre/Accademia Sta Cecilia 2010 broadcast

[art, soon ...?)

Johannes Brahms

Symphony no. 3 in F op. 90

[in next post: Symphony no. 4 in E minor op. 98]

Orchestra dell'Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia

Georges Pretre, conductor

1 June 2010

Parco della Musica in Roma

Thank you, Andrea for having posted this. A fellow listener, henryflower found them

"...outstanding. I think it's instantly become my performance of choice for those works. So much energy and drive, such great woodwind detail..."

What am I supposed to write? There are only so many ways to express the rapt satisfaction and untrammeled serotonin production that some of these recordings cause. It's the raison d'étre for this blog.

Here Georges Prêtre, who came into this world in 1924, leads what wiki calls "one of the oldest musical institutions in the world" and together they bring the smackdown in such a way as to shame all comers.

Our contributor laments, "..[u]nfortunately the quality of sound is not excellent only 128 kbs but it is worthwhile to have it !!"

Yes, yes yes.

1 comment:

Guillermo said...

4 movements in mp3s and a text file with info: